INEC suspends re-run elections in 20 Polling Units in 3 states

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC says it has suspended ongoing re-run elections in some constituencies due to disruptions, irregularities and abduction of election officials on Saturday.

National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun disclosed this in a statement issued Saturday in Abuja.

INEC suspends rerun elections in 20 Polling Units in 3 states
INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu

The affected areas are Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency, Akwa Ibom State. Suspension of elections in two Polling Units (Village Hall, EdemUrua 003 in Ini LGA and Village Hall Mbiabong Ikot Udo 003 in Ikono LGA) where all election materials were carted away by hoodlums.

“Enugu South 1 State Constituency, Enugu State. Suspension of elections in all eight Polling Units where the original results sheets were not available for inspection by voters before the commencement of polls.

“Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency, Kano State. Suspension of elections in all ten Polling Units in Kunchi LGA due to invasion, vandalization, and disruption by thugs”, he stated.

Olumekun said the decision of the Commission aligns with the provisions of Section 24(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022.

“Further necessary measures for the affected constituencies will be announced after the Commission’s meeting on Monday.

“INEC invites the security agencies to investigate the incidents, while the Commission commits to thoroughly interrogating any breaches involving its officials”, he added.