Coach Waldrum, Oshoala, Nnadozie, others make final list of CAF 2023 awards

Super Falcons’ coach Randy Waldrum, his girls Asisat Oshoala, and goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, are in the final list of CAF 2023 awards.

Oshoala is nominated for the Player of the Year Award, competing against Nnadozie, Zambia’s Barbara Babanda, South Africa’s Andile Dlamini, Hilda Magaia, and Thembi Kgatlana.

The list also includes Cameroon’s Ajara Njoya and Anissa Lahmari, as well as Morocco’s Fatima Tagnaout and Ghizalaine Chebbak.

Meanwhile, Chiamaka Nnadozie earns a dual nomination, appearing in the Goalkeeper of the Year Award category alongside Morocco’s Imane Abdelahad and Khadija Er-Rmichi and South Africa’s Andile Dlamini and Kaylin Swart.

Coach Waldrum, Oshoala, Nnadozie, others make final list of CAF 2023 awards
Oshoala, Nnadozie, Waldrum make final list of CAF 2023 awards – Getty image


For the Young Player of the Year award, Esther Ajakaye and Deborah Abiodun face competition from Ghana’s Comfort Yeboah, Morocco’s Nesryne El Chad, and South Africa’s Thubelihle Shamase.

At managerial level, coach Waldrum, who took the Super Falcons to the second round of the New Zealand/Australia 2023 Women’s World Cup, is nominated for the Coach of the Year award, contending with Mehdi El Qaichouri, Reynald Pedros, Desiree Ellis, and Jerry Tshabalala.

The Super Falcons are also nominated in the National Team of the Year Award, Nigeria is listed alongside Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, and Zambia.

CAF announced on Monday that the winners will be determined through votes from a panel consisting of CAF’s technical commission, media professionals, coaches and captains of member associations.

The awards ceremony is scheduled for December 11, 2023, at the Palais des Congres Movenpick in Morocco.