“I feel betrayed but life continues” — Yari speaks on losing senate presidency seat to Akpabio

Senator Abdulaziz Yari has opened up after losing the senate presidency seat to Senator Godswill Akpabio,  accusing senators of betraying him.

Recall that Senator Akpabio representing Akwa Ibom North-West District won the senate presidency seat of the 10th National Assembly.

"I feel betrayed but life continues", Yari speaks on losing senate presidency seat to Akpabio
Senate President, Godswill Akpabio

Akpabio defeated his opponent Abdulaziz Yari, with votes from the lawmakers, thereby making him the Senate President.

His victory was announced by the clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Tambawal Magaji who said Akpabio emerged the winner with 63 votes leaving Yari with 46 votes.

However, Yari said he was hoping to get 61 out of the 109 votes which could have seen him emerge as the Senate President.

Speaking during an interview with journalists on Thursday in Abuja, Yari said: “Yes, I can say there was a betrayal. That’s the truth because as we were taking stock as of 3 am, Monday-Tuesday election, we took stock of over 76.

“But as usual, human beings, we thought we are going to get a pullout of about 15, which we will have a comfortable 61 to win the election.

“But it became the reverse, which only God knows what happened. So, I feel betrayed but life continues and it’s a cycle.”

The 10th National Assembly was inaugurated on Tuesday, June 13, 2023, two days after the lifespan of the 9th National Assembly.

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in the 10th Senate won 57 seats while the major opposition party, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) garnered 29 seats.

Others include All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) – 1; Labour Party (LP) – 6; New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) – 2; Social Democratic Party (SDP) – 2, and Young Progressive Party (YPP) – 1.

Show More