Super Eagles name 25-man squad for AFCON 2024

The Super Eagles have officially announced their 25-man squad for the upcoming 2024 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Côte d’Ivoire.

Coach Jose Peseiro revealed the squad on Friday, through the Nigeria Football Federation’s official channels.

The squad includes a mix of experienced players and rising talents across all positions.

Among the notable names are Victor Osimhen, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, William Troost-Ekong, Ahmed Musa, Victor Boniface, Moses Simon, and Samuel Chukwueze.

Super Eagles name 25-man squad for AFCON 2024
Super Eagles name 25-man squad for AFCON 2024 – Getty image

The list also features Wilfred Ndidi, Ola Aina, Semi Ajayi, Francis Uzoho, Zaidu Sanusi, Calvin Bassey, Kenneth Omeruo, Ademola Lookman, and Umar Sadiq, among others.

Coach Peseiro made a selection of three goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders, and eight forwards.

He also included South Africa-based Stanley Nwabali, NPFL star Olorunleke Ojo, Bruno Onyemaechi, and Bright Osayi-Samuel.

Preparations for the tournament will see the Eagles undergo a training camp in the United Arab Emirates before traveling to Côte d’Ivoire.

The team is set to face tough competition in Group A, where they will go head-to-head against hosts Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, and Equatorial Guinea.

Below is the full list:


Stanley Nwabali
Francis Uzoho
Olorunleke Ojo


William Troost-Ekong
Bright Osayi-Samuel
Ola Aina
Zaidu Sanusi
Bruno Onyemaechi
Semi Ajayi
Calvin Bassey
Chidozie Awaziem
Kenneth Omeruo


Wilfred Ndidi
Raphael Onyedika
Joe Aribo
Frank Onyeka
Alex Iwobi


Victor Osimhen
Victor Boniface
Kelechi Iheanacho
Moses Simon
Ademola Lookman
Ahmed Musa
Umar Sadiq
Samuel Chukwueze