President Tinubu renames airports after Buhari, Awolowo, Dan Fodio, others

The Federal Government, led by President Bola Tinubu, has officially renamed several federal airports in Nigeria in order to honor notable individuals and their enduring legacies.

This announcement was made through a memo issued by the Federal Ministry of Aviation on June 1, 2023, signed by Joke Olatunji, the representative of the Director of Airport Operations.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu
President Bola Ahmed Tinubu

The renaming of these airports is part of the government’s ongoing reforms in the aviation sector and aims to pay tribute to the selected individuals who have made significant contributions to Nigeria’s development.

Among the airports that have been renamed, the Maiduguri Airport in Borno State has been dedicated to the immediate past President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Port Harcourt Airport in Rivers State now carries the name of the late nationalist Obafemi Awolowo. Additionally, the Nasarawa Airport has been immortalized in honor of Usman Dan Fodio, the esteemed founder of the Sokoto Caliphate.

The renaming initiative extends to other airports across the country as well. The Benin Airport in Edo State is now named after the late Oba Akenzua II, in recognition of his remarkable contributions to the region.

The Ebonyi Airport in Ebonyi State pays tribute to the late Senate President Chuba Okadigbo. The Ibadan Airport in Oyo State has been renamed after the late Premier of the old Western Region, Ladoke Akintola.

Here is the full list of renamed airports:

1. Akure Airport – Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu

2. Benin Airport – Oba Akenzua II

3. Dutse Airport – Muhammad Nuhu Sanusi

4. Ebonyi Airport – Chuba Wilberforce Okadigbo

5. Gombe Airport – Brigadier Zakari Maimalari

6. Ibadan Airport – Samuel Ladoke Akintola

7. Ilorin Airport – Gen. Tunde Idiagbon