Sport Goal Of The Year: Diego Costa, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Van Persie Nominated |...

Goal Of The Year: Diego Costa, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Van Persie Nominated | Full List


Diego Costa, Robin van Persie, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and a woman from Ireland, Stephanie Roche have all been nominated for FIFA’s goal of the year award.

Diego Costa’s nomination – one of 10 for the Puskas Prize for the 2013-14 season – is a brilliant overhead kick he scored for his previous club Atletico Madrid against Getafe in November last year.

Manchester United striker Van Persie’s stunning diving header for the Netherlands in the 5-1 demolition of Spain at the World Cup is a contender.

one goal from the Premier League  made the cut and that is Pajtim Kasam’s wonderful volley for Fulham against Crystal Palace last October.

The surprise name on the list though is Roche, an Irish woman –  who is nominated for brilliant juggle and strike for Peamount United against Wexford Youths in the Irish Women’s Championship.

James Rodriguez and Zlatan Ibrahimovic are also nominated.

Tim Cahill’s volley for Australia, in a 3-2 World Cup defeat against the Netherlands makes the list.

The vote will be an online poll with the winning goal and top three to be announced on January 12 at the ceremony for the Ballon d’Or.

It should be noted that Zlatan Ibrahimovic won the prestigious award last year after netting a stunning 30-yard overhead kick for his country in a 4-2 friendly win against England.

Top Goals:

Tim Cahill: Australia v Netherlands, World Cup (June, 2014)

Diego Costa: A Madrid v Getafe, La Liga (Nov 2013)

Marco Fabian: Cruz Azul v Puebla, Mexican Championship (Feb 2014)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic: Paris SG v Bastia, Ligue 1 (Oct 2013)

Pajtim Kasami: Crystal Palace v Fulham, Premier League (Oct 2013)

Stephanie Roche: Peamount United v Wexford Youths, Irish Women’s Championship (Oct 2013)

James Rodriguez: Colombia v Uruguay, World Cup (June 2014)

Camilo Sanvezzo: Vancouver v Portland, MLS (Oct 2013)

Hisato Sato: Sanfrecce Hiroshima v Kawasaki Frontale, J-League (Mar 2014)

Robin van Persie: Spain v Netherlands, World Cup (June 2014)

Former winners:
2013: Zlatan Ibrahimovic
2012: Miroslav Stoch
2011: Neymar
2010: Hamit Altintop
2009: Cristiano Ronaldo              


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here